NCAA Zone Blitz with a Twist

Yes yes this is another blitz post what can I say I love pressure I think all defensive coaches love being able to send pressure when you can. I was browsing through some old game films when I was at my last high school looking at how we played Quarters Match similar to Michigan State when Narduzzi was the Defensive Coordinator and I stumbled across a blitz that was highly successful for us which is the traditional NCAA Blitz that everyone runs (DIAGRAM #1)

ncaa-classic-blitz

We found a different way to run this blitz with a simple exchange between the MLB and the blitz side DE we mugged up the MLB in the B gap and loop the DE into the A gap with the SS still blitzing off the edge. We really like this versus 2 back formations and became a pretty good run and pass blitz for us versus 21 and 20 personnel formations. (DIAGRAM #2)
ncaa-twist-2-back

But we also discovered we could run this blitz versus 2×2 formations with great success as well
(DIAGRAM #3 and #4)

d3

d4

we started out using traditional 3 under 3 deep zone blitz coverage dropping our weak side DE in the low hole. Then we evolved  We made it a 6 man blitz and played 2 under 3 deep coverage because we noticed the team rarely released the RB out of the backfield.  (DIAGRAM #3 & #4).

When we ran into teams who wanted to release their RB on the check down we easily just tagged a “peel” call to the huddle call. I really like this blitz because when we did it right we had great success getting our stunting DE as a free rusher in the A gap. Which as you know immediate pressure in the QB’s face causes automatic problems.

The other element of this blitz I love too is that it’s a very safe call versus the run as well. We still all all the gap covered and frequently ended up with a unblocked player in the backfield on run plays.

I really wish I had more footage of this blitz because we had A TON of success with it but I’am no longer coaching at this school and don’t have access to this film but I found a few clips with the film I do have below enjoy.

3 thoughts on “NCAA Zone Blitz with a Twist

Leave a Reply

